Service Area

Electric service

Service Territory

MGE provides electricity to 159,000 customers in the southern Wisconsin municipalities of:

  • Madison
  • McFarland
  • Monona
  • Middleton
  • Fitchburg
  • Cross Plains
  • Other Dane County communities

Population in the service area totals 339,000. Generating facilities include:

  • Blount Station, West Campus Cogeneration Facility, combustion turbines and solar units at Madison, Wis.
  • Columbia Energy Center at Portage, Wis.
  • Elm Road Generating Station at Oak Creek, Wis.
  • Natural gas combustion turbine at Marinette, Wis.
  • Rosiere wind farm in Kewaunee County, Wis.
  • Top of Iowa Wind Farm at Kensett, Iowa
  • Forward Energy Center wind farm in Dodge and Fond du Lac counties, Wis.
  • Saratoga wind farm in Howard County, Iowa
  • Shared Solar at Middleton, Wis.

Natural gas service

MGE provides natural gas service to 169,000 customers in the following central and southern Wisconsin counties:

  • Columbia
  • Crawford
  • Dane
  • Iowa
  • Juneau
  • Monroe
  • Vernon

Population in the service area totals 470,000. Gas is transported via ANR Pipeline Co., Northern Natural Gas Co. and others.